Activity number : 15 Cegos
DESVIO COLETIVO [BR]

  • Performance

Workers are camouflaged in fancy clothes, covered with clay and blindfolded. It is a metaphor for the paralysis of bodies and the impoverishment of the human experience. Cegos is an urban and visual performance that confronts us with the enslavement of work, illustrated by the outfits worn in major cities, taking on the form of a sinister everyday armour.

Cegos is an urban performance presented as an accessible piece of art that is open to different interpretations: the reduction of our existence to mere productive function and consumption, overwork, imprisonment and paralysis of life, the automation of everyday life and the ethical degeneration that is currently spreading across society.

Cegos was first presented on Paulista Avenue, followed by a performance in Rio de Janeiro in 2012. The performance was part of the Sesc Palco Giratório programme, showcased in almost every major Brazilian city. Moreover, the project was supported by Pro-Rectory of Culture and Extension of the University of São Paulo’s grant as part of the “Cities in Performance” project.

Cegos has also been performed in Paris, Amsterdam, Barcelona, Funchal and New York.

In 2015, Cegos represented Brazil at the International Quadrennial of Prague. During the same year it was staged at the Virada Cultural of São Paulo and the International Dance Festival of Londrina.  The project was also nominated for the Funarte Myriam Muniz Theater Prize, in the Circulation category.

In 2016, it was performed in San José, Costa Rica, in partnership with the School of Dramatic Arts of the University of Costa Rica and LAB Memory of the performing arts.

In 2017, Cegos crossed the Atlantic and was presented at Imaginarius – International Street Theater Festival of Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal; further performances are due to take place in Zurich, Switzerland. The performance will also represent Brazil at the World Stage Design, in Taipei, Taiwan, China, at an event organised by OISTAT – International Organization of Stage Designers, Theater Architects and Technicians. Every four years it celebrates the best in performance design around the world, presenting a range of artistic productions developed across the globe.


Desvio Coletivo is a network of creators from a contemporary theatrical production, involving theatre, performance and urban presentations.

Through the creation of performance, shows and scenic presentation in different urban spaces, the group develops actions that generate islands of disorder of an ephemeral and critical nature.  Since 2011, the group has been researching collaborative scenic creation, with the goal of experimenting with different means of sensorial, dialogical and creative participation of the viewer, thus replacing his/her conventional role, whether as an actor, co-creator of the scenic narrative or as a member of a psychophysical life-like atmosphere.


PRESS

Blind show held in Brasilia to help people provoke on urban development’ – Global Times

https://www.youtube.com/user/desviocoletivo/featured

Activity number : 15 Cegos
DESVIO COLETIVO [BR]

  • Performance

Des ouvriers sont camouflés dans des costumes tirés à quatre épingles, recouverts d’argile et les yeux bandés. Une métaphore de la paralysie des corps et de l’appauvrissement de l’expérience humaine. Cegos est une performance urbaine et visuelle qui nous confronte à l’asservissement au travail, illustré dans les tenues portées dans les grandes métropoles, telles de sinistres armures du quotidien.

Cegos est une performance urbaine présentée comme un travail ouvert qui renvoie à différentes lectures : la réduction de notre existence à la fonction et à la consommation productives, le surmenage, l’emprisonnement et la paralysie de la vie, l’automatisation de la vie quotidienne, la dégénérescence éthique qui se propage actuellement au sein de la société.

Cegos a fait ses débuts sur l’avenue Paulista, suivis d’une performance à Rio de Janeiro en 2012. La performance faisait partie de la programmation du Sesc Palco Giratório, présentée dans presque toutes les grandes villes brésiliennes. Le projet a également reçu le soutien du Pro-Rectory of Culture and Extension of the University of São Paulo dans le cadre du projet Cities in Performance.

Cegos a également été jouée à Paris, Amsterdam, Barcelone, Funchal et New York.

En 2015, Cegos représentait le Brésil lors de l’International Quadrennial of Prague. La même année, la performance était interprétée lors de la Virada Cultural of São Paulo et du International Dance Festival of Londrina. Enfin, le projet était en lice pour le Funarte Myriam Muniz Theater Prize, dans la catégorie Circulation.

En 2016, il est joué à San José, au Costa Rica, en partenariat avec la School of Dramatic Arts of the University of Costa Rica et du LAB Memory of the performing arts.

En 2017, Cegos se rend en Europe et participe au festival Imaginarius – International Street Theater Festival of Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal, avec des présentations prévues à Zurich, en Suisse. Le spectacle représentera également le Brésil au World Stage Design, à Taipei, à Taiwan, en Chine, événement organisé par OISTAT – International Organization of Stage Designers, Theater Architects and Technicians – célébrant tous les quatre ans le meilleur du design de performance dans le monde, présentant un panel de productions artistiques développées dans le monde entier.


Desvio Coletivo est un réseau de créateurs provenant d’une scène théâtrale contemporaine entre théâtre, performance et intervention urbaine.

À travers la création de performances, spectacles et interventions scéniques dans divers espaces urbains, le groupe développe des actions qui génèrent des îlots de troubles éphémères et critiques. Depuis 2011, le groupe étudie la création scénique collaborative, dans le but d’expérimenter différentes modalités de participation sensorielle, dialogique et créative du spectateur, remplaçant ainsi son rôle conventionnel, que ce soit en tant qu’acteur, co-créateur du discours scénique ou membre d’une atmosphère d’immersion psychophysique.


PRESSE

Blind show held in Brasilia to help people provoke on urban development’ – Global Times