Activity number : 6 Crisálida
ANTES COLLADO [ES]

  • Installation / Performance

In a giant terrarium a metamorphosis unfolds before our eyes. That of a man, a strange moth who is born, evolves, stumbles around, fails, etc. Crisálida is a metaphor for all moments of fragility and vulnerability of the human species. An installation/performance on the notion of marginal bodies and the perversion of nature.

Before our eyes, the gaping hole of a dry river, both bare and arid. We discover the remains of what has been thrown away, pulled, discarded and hidden over the years. From the river and its splendour, there remains only one memory, merely a negative of something forgotten which is about to disappear. What can we salvage from this desert? What can we save from this desertification?

It is not easy and no less painful to look at our pathetic and forgotten humanity face-to-face but we must take responsibility for the desert we have chosen and draw it beyond any form of analysis or image and, above all, away from every aspect of apocalyptic simplicity. The human being has gained the right to be reborn, the right to overcome his downfall and overcome his own sentence.

In Crisálida we find an imperative: forgetting ourselves, forgetting our world in order to create a new spontaneous, brilliant space; under the gaze of the on-looking audience, develop an heterotopic (inner and outer) space to reflect on the way we live in our bodies, to remember the only invariable trait in our our existence: the capacity to generate new living forms despite the fact that culturally and rationally, they seem doomed to the most calculable failure.

You believed in the fall – I am just its echo.


Antes Collado Antes Collado is a dance company directed by Joaquín Collado (Villamalea, Albacete, Spain, 1991). In 2016 Joaquín, together with a group of like-minded people, founded Antes Collado as a shared creation space. Antes Collado has been supported by the Teatre El Musical and La Mutant of Valencia, amongst others, and has presented its works at the 18th Biennale of young creators of Europe and the Mediterranean 2017 in Tirana (Albania), the choreography competitions Paso a dos in Madrid and MasDanza, the International Festival of contemporary dance in Canarias, the Dance Venice Biennial, the Metropolitan Dance festival of Barcelona, ​​the American Dance Festival in the US and Beijing dance festival, among others.

The latest creation, Crisálida (or Lethe’s revenge), was premièred last April at La Mutant, as part of the Dansa-Valencia festival. It is the second project of a set of works that the company will showcase on the notion of marginal bodies and the perversion of nature, which began with Nereo drowning and Nereidas.

Activity number : 6 Crisálida
ANTES COLLADO [ES]

  • Installation / Performance

Dans un terrarium géant se déroule sous nos yeux une métamorphose. Celle d’un homme, étrange papillon de nuit qui nait, évolue, tâtonne, échoue… Crisálida est une métaphore de tous les moments de fragilité et de vulnérabilité de l’espèce humaine. Une installation/performance autour de la notion de corps marginaux et de la perversion de la nature.

Devant nous, le trou béant d’une rivière asséchée, nu et aride. On y découvre les restes de ce qui a été jeté, traîné, déposé, caché au fil des années. De la rivière et de sa splendeur, il ne reste plus qu’un souvenir, à peine un négatif de quelque chose d’oublié, sur le point de disparaître. Que pouvons-nous sauver de ce désert? Que peut-on sauver de cette désertification?

Il n’est ni facile et non moins pénible de regarder en face notre humanité pathétique et oubliée, mais nous devons assumer le désert que nous avons choisi, l’amener au-delà de tout calcul, de toute image, et, surtout de toute simplisme apocalyptique. L’être humain a reçu le droit de renaître, le droit de pouvoir surmonter sa chute et de vaincre sa propre sentence.

Dans Crisálida, nous sommes confrontés à un impératif: nous oublier nous-mêmes, notre monde, afin de créer un nouvel espace spontané, brillant ; sous les yeux d’un témoin, créer un espace hétérotopique, intérieur et extérieur, pour y réfléchir à la façon de vivre notre corps, à la mémoire de la seule chose immuable de notre existence: la capacité de générer de nouvelles façons de vivre malgré le fait que culturellement, rationnellement, nous sommes liés à l’échec le plus prévisible.

Vous avez cru à la chute, mais je ne suis que son écho.


Antes Collado est une compagnie de danse dirigée par Joaquín Collado (Villamalea, Albacete, España, 1991). En 2016, Joaquín Collado, avec l’aide de personnes partageant les mêmes préoccupations, fonde Antes Collado tel un espace de création partagé. Antes Collado a été soutenu par des structures telles que le Teatre El Musical et La Mutant of Valencia et a présenté ses œuvres entre autres dans le cadre de la 18ème Biennale of young creators of Europe and the Mediterranean 2017 à Tirana (Albanie), des concours de chorégraphie Paso a dos à Madrid et MasDanza, Festival international de danse contemporaine des Canaries, de la Dance Venice Biennial, du Metropolitan Dance festival of Barcelona, du American Dance Festival aux Etats-Unis, ou encore du Beijing dance festival.

 

Leur dernière création, Crisálida (ou la revanche de Lethe), a été créée en avril dernier à La Mutant, dans le cadre du festival Dansa-Valencia. Il s’agit du deuxième projet d’un ensemble de travaux que la compagnie réalise autour de la notion de corps marginaux et la perversion de la nature, qui a commencé avec Nereo drowning et Nereidas.