Activity number : 13 Listen to the pulse
JEANNE DEBARSY [BE] & ZOÉ SULIKO [FR]

  • Installation

Listen to the pulse is a sound immersion showcased at the very heart of the missions of Doctors Without Borders (Médecins sans frontières – MSF). Step by step, the sounds guide you, projecting you to the epicentre of deeply distressing events, such as war zones, natural disasters, epidemics, etc. The installation invites you to come face to face with one another and questions the barriers we have put up and which we hope will soon break down.

Listen to the pulse is located on the “Bruno Corbé” site – the MSF training and innovation centre. The objective is immerse staff in the real conditions of field work, before they embark on a mission. Sounds extend across this startling space; it invites you to experience life-like situations as they would be in the field.

As you wander through the MSF premises and cast an eye on their equipment, you are pulled into real-life experiences where the human being takes centre stage.

 

Scenery: Aurélie Deloche
Photos/visuals: Jonathan Ortegat


Jeanne Debarsy left the IAD in 2007 where she was studying sound engineering. She works in different fields of sound and cooperates with many actors from the world of entertainment, cinema, radio, music and creation.

Since 2010, she has been particularly passionate about the radio media because it provides her with a freedom of action and expression – a precious commodity in her eyes. Feeding a growing desire to put her own ideas on the air waves, in 2011 she made her first radio documentary in Madagascar called Ino Vaovao Mada? where she mixes her passion for travel and meeting people with that of music and sound. Subsequently, she made other documentaries Los Santos and Terre Noire, which were also widely broadcast.

In 2017, she co-authored her first fictional radio broadcast La première fois que je suis devenu foule marking the beginning of a more experimental period where the sound takes precedence over the discourse, as revealed in her latest work Fragments from Africa and Avec le vent.

She has continued to develop her own sound language in order to fine-tune her personal research and to work with a wide range of artists, video makers, directors, musicians, etc.

In 2018, she received the SCAM-SACD Radio Prize for her work.

 

 

Zoé Suliko likes to listen. She likes to listen to people, places, landscapes, details and the pulsations that bring the world to life. She has a multitude of influences which define her work, similar to a mosaic. She trained to be a concert pianist and took dance classes at the same time.

Immersed in the fields of contemporary dance, living models, hiking, foreign languages and music, she was gradually drawn to the listening process.

Having studied in a film school, Zoé Suliko was able to manage the transition from sound to image with ease.

A member of ACSR (Sound and Radiophonic Creation Workshop), Radio Moniek collective (radiophonic cabaret) and ASAR (Association of Sound and Radio Editors), she also co-hosts the Sonic Radio Festival City Sonic (Transcultures) with Disinterested (aka Gilles Malatray).

Passionate about the idea of communicating and meeting people through the process of listening, she regularly runs sound workshops for various member of the public (often in pairs) and is actively involved in neighbourhood life (helping to found the “La-Radio -Des-Parents ” as part of the permanent education policy of the League of Families). She contributes to several associative radio stations in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (Radio Campus, Radio Panik, Radio Alma) and has actively involved in radiophonic creation since 2003 with the portrait of the Académie des Beaux-Arts in Saint-Josse.

She is interested in the development of the mental image in the soundscape and likes to ponder the narrative status of image and sound, searching beyond a simple illustration.

In 2018, she wrote and broadcast her first radio and sound fiction for children – Rascasse, le vieux marin (with support from the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and the ACSR; it claimed first prize at the NY Festival Radio Awards 2019), adapted from Frédéric Cartier-Lange’s eponymous book.


PRESS

Jeanne Debarsy

RTBF – La Première – Entrez sans frapper :

https://www.rtbf.be/auvio/detail_la-semaine-du-son-2018?id=2304999

 

Article par Laura Romero pour RadioDoc Review. A digital journal where selected audio/radio documentaries, podcasts and features from around the world are critiqued by eminent scholars and/or practitioners of the form. Avec le Vent was selected for a review by Laura Romero : https://ro.uow.edu.au/rdr/

Interview pour le magazine/plateforme Karoo : https://karoo.me/art-ko/chemin-faisant-entretien-avec-jeanne-debarsy

 

Zoé Suliko

Article sur la création sonore dans le journal de la SACD:

https://www.sacd.be/fr/actualites/193-nourrir-l-image-mentale-pour-deployer-l-imaginaire-par-zoe-suliko

“Entrez sans frapper” – Billet sur les 3 créations sonores primées – Auvio

https://www.rtbf.be/auvio/recherche?tag=zoe%20suliko

Sonic Radio – festival City Sonic – Transcultures :

http://citysonic.be/festival2014/2014/09/09/zoe-tabourdiot-de-la-creation-documentaire-a-la-sonic-radio-interview/

Activity number : 13 Listen to the pulse
JEANNE DEBARSY [BE] & ZOÉ SULIKO [FR]

  • Installation

Listen to the pulse est une immersion sonore au cœur des missions de Médecins sans Frontières. Pas à pas, les sons vous guident, vous projettent au cœur d’instants bouleversants, en zones de guerre, lors de catastrophes naturelles, d’épidémies… L’installation invite à la rencontre de l’autre et questionne les barrages que nous avons dressés et dont on peut espérer qu’ils ne tarderont pas à céder.

Listen to the pulse se situe sur le site « Bruno Corbé » – centre de formation et d’innovation de MSF – dont le but est de plonger le personnel dans les conditions réelles du travail sur le terrain, avant de partir en mission. Les sons se répandent dans cet espace surprenant et vous invitent à vivre des moments immersifs tels qu’on peut les vivre sur le terrain.

En même temps qu’elle révèle les espaces et équipements MSF, la déambulation vous projette au cœur d’instants vécus où l’humain occupe une place prépondérante.


Jeanne Debarsy est sortie de l’IAD en 2007 où elle a suivi une formation d’ingénieur du son. Elle travaille dans les différents domaines du son et collabore avec de nombreux acteurs du monde du spectacle, du cinéma, de la radio, de la musique, de la création.

Depuis 2010, elle se passionne tout particulièrement pour le média radiophonique car celui-ci lui procure une liberté d’action et d’expression précieuse à ses yeux. Nourrissant une envie grandissante de mettre en ondes ses propres idées, elle réalise son premier documentaire radiophonique en 2011 à Madagascar Ino Vaovao Mada? où elle mêle sa passion du voyage et de la rencontre à celle de la musique et du son. Elle réalise ensuite d’autres documentaires sonores Los Santos et Terre Noire, largement diffusés également.

En 2017, elle cosigne sa première fiction radiophonique La première fois que je suis devenu foule marquant le début d’une période davantage expérimentale où le sonore prend le pas sur le discours, comme en témoignent ses dernières créations Fragments from Africa ou encore Avec le vent.

Elle continue de développer son propre langage sonore afin d’affiner sa recherche personnelle et pour se mettre au service d’artistes divers, vidéastes, réalisateurs, musiciens,…

En 2018, elle reçoit le Prix Radio de la SCAM-SACD pour l’ensemble de son œuvre.

 

 

Zoé Suliko aime écouter. Écouter les gens, les lieux, les paysages, les détails, les pulsations qui animent le monde. Ses influences sont multiples et la composent, telle une mosaïque : formée à être pianiste concertiste, elle a suivi en parallèle des cours de danse.

Plongée dans les domaines de la danse contemporaine, du modèle vivant, de la randonnée, des langues étrangères et de la musique, elle s’est sensibilisée peu à peu à l’écoute périphérique.

Issue d’une école de cinéma, Zoé Suliko passe du son à l’image avec aisance.

Membre de l’ACSR (Atelier de création sonore et radiophonique), du collectif Radio Moniek (cabaret radiophonique) et de l’ASAR (Association des auteur.e.s sonores et radiophoniques), elle co-anime également la Sonic Radio du festival City Sonic (Transcultures) avec Désartsonnants (aka Gilles Malatray).

Passionnée par l’idée de la transmission et de la rencontre par l’écoute, elle anime régulièrement des ateliers sonores pour divers publics (souvent en binôme) et s’implique activement dans la vie de quartier (mise en place de « La-Radio-Des-Parents », dans le cadre du contrat Education Permanente de La Ligue des Familles). Elle participe à plusieurs radios associatives en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (Radio Campus, Radio Panik, Radio Alma ) et s’est lancée dans la création radiophonique depuis 2003 avec le portrait de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Saint-Josse.

Elle s’intéresse à la création de l’image mentale dans le domaine sonore et aime penser la place narrative de l’image et du son au-delà de la simple illustration.

Elle signe sa première fiction radiophonique et sonore pour le jeune public en 2018 avec Rascasse, le vieux marin (soutenue par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et l’ACSR – 1er prix au NY Festival Radio Awards 2019), adaptée du livre éponyme de Frédéric Cartier-Lange.

 


PRESSE

Jeanne Debarsy

RTBF – La Première – Entrez sans frapper :

https://www.rtbf.be/auvio/detail_la-semaine-du-son-2018?id=2304999

 

Article par Laura Romero pour RadioDoc Review. A digital journal where selected audio/radio documentaries, podcasts and features from around the world are critiqued by eminent scholars and/or practitioners of the form. Avec le Vent was selected for a review by Laura Romero : https://ro.uow.edu.au/rdr/

Interview pour le magazine/plateforme Karoo : https://karoo.me/art-ko/chemin-faisant-entretien-avec-jeanne-debarsy

 

Zoé Suliko

Article sur la création sonore dans le journal de la SACD:

https://www.sacd.be/fr/actualites/193-nourrir-l-image-mentale-pour-deployer-l-imaginaire-par-zoe-suliko

“Entrez sans frapper” – Billet sur les 3 créations sonores primées – Auvio

https://www.rtbf.be/auvio/recherche?tag=zoe%20suliko

Sonic Radio – festival City Sonic – Transcultures :

http://citysonic.be/festival2014/2014/09/09/zoe-tabourdiot-de-la-creation-documentaire-a-la-sonic-radio-interview/