Activity number : 11 Nightwalks with Teenagers
MAMMALIAN DIVING REFLEX / DARREN O’DONNELL [CA]

  • Participative Walk

At a time when social division is becoming more pronounced as demonstrated by the climate change marches, Nightwalks with Teenagers breaks down the boundary between adults and adolescents through a unique social experience, centred on the power of a group walk. A way to rediscover Brussels, guided by local youths, on a nocturnal and contemplative walk.

Nightwalks with Teenagers has been created by local youths, who plan, design and conduct night walks in the city, exploring the neighbourhood with local citizens. Nightwalks brings together teenagers and adults in a shared place and time, where everyone can relax and where silence provides an opportunity for contemplation.

Wandering through the streets and paths of Brussels, this walk reveals undiscovered sites and untapped talents. Be prepared to dance, laugh, run, walk and get lost in this urban playground, while following shared paths and embracing connected futures.

NUIT BLANCHE has called upon Impulsion asbl (non-profit organisation), a dance academy based in Laeken, to provide the young performers for the Nigthwalks with Teenagers, by the Canadian collective Mammalian Diving Reflex/Darren O’Donnell. At a time when the gulf between generations is becoming more pronounced, as demonstrated by the climate change marches, Nightwalks with Teenagers is a unique social experience, centred on the power of a group walk. Aimed at encouraging dialogue between young people and adults, the former guide the latter through their local neighbourhoods.

 

This presentation of Nightwalks with Teenagers is made possible in part thanks to grants from the Canada Council for the Arts touring programs.


Mammalian Diving Reflex is dedicated to the study of the social sphere, always looking for contradictions to create magical experiences. They create outdoor and social performances, theatrical productions, participatory installations in galleries, videos, films, works of art and theoretical texts, cooperating with local enthusiasts to create a work that acknowledges the social responsibility of art. It also encourages dialogue and breaks down the barriers that exist between young and old as well as cultural, economic and social backgrounds. Mammalian brings people together in an innovative and unusual way all over the world to create attractive, stimulating work that encourages people to express themselves, to think and feel. Ideal entertainment for the end of the world!


PRESS

‘For 90 minutes, these kids give us the gift of being allowed to behave like children again’ – The Guardian

‘Une balade nocturne pour mieux se découvrir’ – Le Progrès

Activity number : 10 Nightwalks with Teenagers
MAMMALIAN DIVING REFLEX / DARREN O’DONNELL [CA]

  • Participative Walk
  • Interactive
  • Limited capacity

À l’heure où le clivage entre les générations se renforce un peu plus via les marches pour le climat, Nightwalks with teenagers déconstruit la frontière entre adultes et adolescents à travers une expérience sociale unique, centrée sur le pouvoir d’une marche commune. Une manière de redécouvrir Bruxelles, guidé.e par la jeunesse locale dans une promenade nocturne et contemplative.

Nightwalks with Teenagers est créé avec la jeunesse locale, qui planifie, conçoit et dirige des promenades nocturnes dans la ville, explorant le quartier avec les citoyens. Nightwalks réunit adolescents et adultes dans un lieu et à un moment partagés, où chacun peut se détendre et où le silence offre un moment de contemplation.

Empruntant les rues et les sentiers bruxellois, ce spectacle à pied dévoile des sites inédits et des talents inexploités. Attendez-vous à danser, à rire, à courir, à marcher et à vous égarer dans ce terrain de jeu urbain, tout en suivant des chemins partagés et des futurs connectés.

 

Pour constituer l’équipe de jeunes performeurs de Nigthwalks with Teenagers, du collectif canadien Mammalian Diving Reflex/Darren O’Donnell, NUIT BLANCHE a fait appel à l’asbl Impulsion, école de danse basée à Laeken. À l’heure où le clivage entre les générations se renforce un peu plus via les marches pour le climat, Nightwalks with teenagers constitue une expérience sociale unique, centrée sur le pouvoir d’une marche commune, menée par les jeunes du quartier en dialogue avec des adultes.

 

This presentation of Nightwalks with Teenagers is made possible in part thanks to grants from the Canada Council for the Arts touring programs.


Mammalian Diving Reflex se consacre à l’étude de la sphère sociale, toujours à la recherche de contradictions pour créer des expériences éclatantes. Ils créent des performances sur le terrain, et à caractère social, des productions théâtrales, des installations participatives dans des galeries, des vidéos, des films, des objets d’art et des textes théoriques, collaborant avec des amateurs pour créer une œuvre qui reconnaît la responsabilité sociale de l’art, favorise le dialogue et élimine les barrières entre les âges, les origines culturelles, économiques et sociales. Mammalian rassemble les gens de manière inédite et inhabituelle et ce, dans le monde entier, afin de créer un travail attrayant, stimulant et encourageant les gens à s’exprimer, penser, ressentir. Un divertissement idéal pour préparer la fin du monde.


PRESSE

‘For 90 minutes, these kids give us the gift of being allowed to behave like children again’ – The Guardian

‘Une balade nocturne pour mieux se découvrir’ – Le Progrès