Activity number : 12 Remnant Ecologies
JONY EASTERBY [UK]

  • Installation

Jony Easterby deals with both the degradation and the restoration of the environment. Remnant Ecologies is an artistic response to our disconnect with nature: a journey through eight scenes dotted with nesting boxes, branches and trees in the heart of the city – projections of a beauty from another world. An invitation to embrace a sense of wonder for all ages – a return to simpler things.

Remnant Ecologies is a series of works developed by Jony Easterby as an artistic response to the growing concern surrounding our disconnection with and retrenchment from the natural world.

The real and existential threat of man’s destruction of the ecosystem, tales of extinction and the cataclysm experienced by our climate are all reasons which led Jony Easterby to celebrate nature and highlight on our disconnection with natural world

His own empirical studies on landscape, botany, ecology and silviculture (or the rational exploitation of woodland trees) proved both inspiring and overwhelming for the artist. In Remnant Ecologies, he attempts to make sense of a world in which our deep empathy for nature is undermined by a strong sense of fear for our future.

“One of the penalties of an ecological education is that one lives alone in a world of wounds”. Aldo Leopold

The paradox of our relationship and detachment from nature in the Anthropocene period is that the joy of our interaction with a physical and ecological reality has been tarnished by a melancholy and burning desire not only for what has been lost but also that which we are afraid of losing.

The following installations, drawn from a wide range of work, aim to ask questions without offering any real answers. The cages are empty, the birdsong is digitized and yet the trees continue to grow.


Jony Easterby is an artist, designer, producer, director, performer, passionate naturalist and plant lover.

Through the use of digital and analogue media, Easterby explores the boundaries between raw materials, sound technology, composition, landscape and architecture. In similar fashion to many artists, the existential turmoil which confronts us on a daily basis as a result of the environmental collapse of ecosystems has led him to focus his energy and conceptual art works on these issues.

His studios produce collaborative performances and installations across vast landscapes that explore the narrative of the environmental emergency. They include Sounding the River, For-the-Birds and more recently Tree and Wood.

His permanent installations deal with both the degradation and the restoration of the environment. His uses a wide range of experimental sites to showcase his work: a coal basin in Wales, industrial agriculture in the north of England and the Samphire Tower, a watchtower looking out to sea, and a sound installation under the white cliffs of Dover.

 

 


PRESS

‘Engaging with an Easterby installation involves a degree of childlike wonderment, like one gets from staring at waves in the sea or flames in the fire. We have been programmed to respond to this and Easterby knows it’ – The Guardian

‘It is a small oasis of strange, contemplative, other-worldly loveliness in a land increasingly ruled by banal norms’ – The Arts Desk

‘Tree and Wood is a spectacle to behold…It is a breathtaking sight and an extraordinary achievement’ The Guardian

Activity number : 12 Remnant Ecologies
JONY EASTERBY [UK]

  • Installation

Jony Easterby traite à la fois de la dégradation et de la restauration de l’environnement. Remnant Ecologies est une réponse artistique à notre déconnexion avec la nature : un parcours en 8 tableaux jalonné de nichoirs, de branches et d’arbres au cœur de la ville, de projections d’une beauté d’un autre monde. Une invitation à l’émerveillement de tous les âges, à un retour aux choses simples.

Remnant Ecologies est une série d’œuvres développées par Jony Easterby comme réponse artistique à une inquiétude croissante à l’égard de notre déconnexion et de notre désengagement du monde naturel.

La menace réelle et existentielle de la destruction de l’écosystème par l’homme, les récits d’extinction, et le cataclysme que subit notre climat sont autant de raisons ayant poussé Jony Easterby à célèbrer la nature et mettre en lumière notre déconnexion avec celle-ci.

Ses propres études empiriques sur le paysage, la botanique, l’écologie et la sylviculture (ou exploitation rationnelle des arbres forestiers) ont à la fois été source d’inspiration et d’accablement pour l’artiste. Dans Remnant Ecologies, il tente de donner un sens à un monde dans lequel notre profonde empathie pour la nature est mise à mal par une solide inquiétude concernant notre avenir.

« L’un des fardeaux d’une éducation écologique, c’est que l’on vit seul dans un monde de plaies. » Aldo Leopold

Le paradoxe de notre relation et de notre déconnexion avec la nature au sein de l’Anthropocène est que la joie procurée par notre interaction avec une réalité physique et écologique est ternie par une mélancolie et un désir ardent, non seulement de ce qui a été perdu, mais également de ce que nous craignons de perdre.

Les installations suivantes, tirées d’un vaste ensemble d’œuvres, visent à poser des questions sans offrir de vraies réponses. Les cages sont vides, le chant des oiseaux est numérisé, mais les arbres continuent de pousser.


Jony Easterby est un artiste, designer, producteur, producteur, réalisateur, performeur, naturaliste passionné et amoureux des plantes.

À l’aide de supports numériques et analogiques, Easterby explore les limites entre les matériaux bruts, la technologie sonore, la composition, le paysage et l’architecture. Comme de nombreux artistes, les bouleversements existentiels auxquels nous sommes chaque jour confrontés en raison de l’effondrement environnemental des écosystèmes, l’ont amené à concentrer son énergie et ses cadres conceptuels sur ces problématiques.

Ses studios produisent des performances et installations collaboratives, à l’échelle du paysage, qui explorent les récits de l’urgence environnementale. Celles-ci incluent Sounding the River, For-the-Birds et plus récemment Tree and Wood.

Ses installations permanentes traitent à la fois de la dégradation et la restauration de l’environnement. Ses terrains d’expérimentation sont divers : un bassin houiller au pays de Galles, l’agriculture industrielle dans le nord de l’Angleterre et la Samphire Tower, une tour de guet en mer et une installation sonore sous les falaises blanches de Douvres.

 

 


PRESSE

‘Engaging with an Easterby installation involves a degree of childlike wonderment, like one gets from staring at waves in the sea or flames in the fire. We have been programmed to respond to this and Easterby knows it’ – The Guardian

‘It is a small oasis of strange, contemplative, other-worldly loveliness in a land increasingly ruled by banal norms’ – The Arts Desk

‘Tree and Wood is a spectacle to behold…It is a breathtaking sight and an extraordinary achievement’ The Guardian