Activity number : 2 The Woodpeckers
MARCO BAROTTI [IT.DE]

  • Installation

Marco Barotti’s Woodpeckers react in real time to the invisible waves of mobile communication. The result: an acoustic composition in constant transformation. It is a vibrant soundscape that resonates like a set of drums invading the urban and natural environments, a metaphor for our impact on the planet.


Marco Barotti is a multimedia artist based in Berlin. After finishing his music studies at the Siena Jazz Academy, he began merging sound with visual art. His work is driven by a desire to invent an artistic language where a fictional post-futurist era is expressed through kinetic sound interventions in natural and urban environments.

These installations merge audio technology, consumer objects and waste into moving sculptures triggered entirely by sound. The primary focus of his work involves creating a “technology ecosystem” that plays upon our resemblance to animals.  These artworks serve as a metaphor for the anthropogenic impact on the planet and aim to raise awareness of environmental issues.


PRESS

‘The curious creatures transform invisible signals from mobile and wireless technology into beats that their beaks tap out onto architecture’ – Eastern Daily Press

‘Les Woodpeckers, ces drôles de piverts qui réagissent au ondes..’ – Bien urbain

Activity number : 2 The Woodpeckers
MARCO BAROTTI [IT.DE]

  • Installation
  • Kids friendly

Les Woodpeckers (piverts) de Marco Barotti réagissent en temps réel aux ondes invisibles de la communication mobile. Le résultat : une composition acoustique en constante transformation. Un paysage sonore vibrant qui résonne tel un ensemble de tambours envahissant les environnements urbains et naturels, métaphore de notre impact sur la planète.


Marco Barotti est un artiste multimédia basé à Berlin. Après des études de musique à la Siena Jazz Academy, il commence à fusionner son et art visuel. Son œuvre est animée par le désir d’inventer un langage artistique dans lequel une ère post-futuriste fictive s’exprime, à travers des interventions sonores cinétiques dans des environnements naturels et urbains.

Ses installations fusionnent technologie audio, objets de consommation et déchets pour les transformer en sculptures mouvantes, déclenchées uniquement par le son. L’objectif principal de son travail est de créer un « écosystème technologique » qui joue sur les ressemblances avec les animaux. Ces œuvres servent de métaphore à l’impact anthropique sur la planète et visent ainsi à sensibiliser l’être humain aux problèmes environnementaux.


PRESSE

‘The curious creatures transform invisible signals from mobile and wireless technology into beats that their beaks tap out onto architecture’ – Eastern Daily Press

‘Les Woodpeckers, ces drôles de piverts qui réagissent au ondes..’ – Bien urbain