Activity number : 7 WRECK – List of extinct Species
PIETRO MARULLO / INSIEME IRREALI COMPANY [IT.BE]

  • Performance

A gigantic sculpture, made from dark, aerial matter, invades the space. As this modern-day Leviathan moves, beings are swallowed and spat out, like fragile, stranded species. Blending performance, dance and visual arts, WRECK – List of extinct species is a metaphor for sinking, an allegory of a drifting world.

Through WRECK, the objective of the artist and his company INSIEMI IRREALI is to tackle  choreographic issues using a different artistic approach and to develop a new and original language.


Pietro Marullo is an Italian artist based in Brussels, where he founded  INSIEMI IRREALI an organisation supported by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation.

His interdisciplinary work lies at the intersection of visual and performance art,  between installation and movement; it is deeply focused on social, historical and anthropological topics.

Born in 1985 in Naples, Italy, he moved to Brussels in 2008 to study directing at the National Institute of Performing Arts (INSAS).

He divides his artistic experiences between France, Italy and Germany, playing in Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice directed by Thomas Ostermeier at the Venice Biennale 2011. He participated in the FINDPlus Festival 2011 at Berlin Schaubühne, was selected for the international project Europe will art you in Paris in 2012 and sponsored by Valérie Dreville as a young artist for the Kadoms Travel project at the Avignon Festival 2013, etc.

His works have been presented all around the world, at renowned festivals and platforms such as the OrienteOccidente Festival, the Seoul International Dance Festival, the José Limón International Dance Festival, the Danse Élargie/Théâtre de la Ville festival, the Beijing Dance festival, the National Platform of Italian Dance.

Since 2015, Pietro has been contemplating anthropologic and aesthetic expression in terms of the links between reality and symbolic languages.  This approach has lead to the creation of the “fantasy of the species”, a philosophical statement that places our societies face-to-face with their own histories and common challenges from the broader point of view of the species.


PRESS

‘Pietro Marullo signe avec Wreck un spectacle à mi-chemin entre la danse et la marionnette. (…) Une proposition visuelle somptueuse, propulsée par le son, qui fait palpiter l’imaginaire’ – Le Vif

‘Mêlant les langages de la danse, de l’art plastique, du son et de l’installation, WRECK nous parle de migration et de la condition humaine dans une fascinante dérive métaphorique de la matière et des corps’ – BRUZZ

Activity number : 7 WRECK – List of extinct Species
PIETRO MARULLO / INSIEME IRREALI COMPANY [IT.BE]

  • Performance

Une gigantesque sculpture, matière obscure et aérienne, envahit l’espace. Au gré des mouvements de ce Léviathan des temps modernes, des êtres sont avalés puis recrachés, telle une espèce fragile, échouée. Mêlant performance, danse et art plastique, WRECK – List of extinct species est une métaphore du naufrage, une allégorie d’un monde à la dérive.

À travers WRECK, l’objectif de l’artiste et de sa compagnie INSIEMI IRREALI est d’aborder les questions chorégraphiques dans un domaine artistique différent et de produire un langage nouveau et original.


Pietro Marullo est un artiste italien basé à Bruxelles, où il a fondé la compagnie INSIEMI IRREALI, soutenue par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Son travail interdisciplinaire se situe à la frontière entre arts visuels et théâtre, entre installation et mouvement, et est centré sur les thèmes sociaux, historiques et anthropologiques.

Né 1985 à Naples (Italie), il s’installe en 2008 à Bruxelles pour étudier la mise en scène à l’Institut national supérieur des arts de la scène (INSAS).

Il multiplie les expériences artistiques entre la France, l’Italie et l’Allemagne en jouant dans Death in Venice de Thomas Mann dirigé par Thomas Ostermeier à la Biennale de Venise 2011, a participé au FINDPlus Festival 2011 à la Berlin Schaubühne, a été sélectionné pour le projet international Europe will art you in Paris en 2012, a été parrainé par Valérie Dreville en tant que jeune artiste pour le projet Kadoms Travel au Festival Avignon 2013, etc.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées aux quatre coins du monde, dans des festivals et plateformes de renommée tels que le Festival OrienteOccidente, le Seoul International Dance Festival, le José Limón International Dance Festival, le festival Danse Élargie / Théâtre de la Ville, le Beijing dance festival, la Plate-forme nationale de danse italienne.

Depuis 2015, Pietro développe une réflexion anthropologique et esthétique sur les liens entre la réalité et les langages symboliques. Cette approche l’engage à créer un « imaginaire de l’espèce », une déclaration philosophique qui confronte nos sociétés à leur propre histoire ainsi qu’à des problèmes plus universels du point de vue général de notre espèce.


PRESSE

‘Pietro Marullo signe avec Wreck un spectacle à mi-chemin entre la danse et la marionnette. (…) Une proposition visuelle somptueuse, propulsée par le son, qui fait palpiter l’imaginaire’ – Le Vif

‘Mêlant les langages de la danse, de l’art plastique, du son et de l’installation, WRECK nous parle de migration et de la condition humaine dans une fascinante dérive métaphorique de la matière et des corps’ – BRUZZ